top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Baby Steps

March 21, 2022

Many new things are happenings regarding my final product. I had my first mentor visit last week with my mentor Mrs.Daniel. We discussed my plan for my final product as well what I expect to receive in terms of guidance throughout the mentorship process. I also contacted the head volleyball coach at my high school, because we had discussed me coming in to talk to her teams about eating disorders in order to spread awareness and offer resources, so we made the plan for me to come in Monday, March 28. I am really excited to come in and talk to these high school girls, because research has shown that girls, especially teenagers, are at higher risk for developing eating disorders, and athletes are as well, so I am glad I get the chance to share what I have learned. I think this is a good first step for my final product because it gives me the chance to practice and get used to talking in front of people, so that I can be more prepared to present my information and proposal to school faculty members. I am also really excited to have more mentor visits and gain real world experience and hopefully get to observe some therapy sessions and listen to stories from those who have struggled.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page