top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Beginning of a Mentorship

November 16, 2021

I have decided to start the process of choosing a mentor. I will be choosing from the five people that I interviewed; Professor Kaminski, Mrs.Wendy Pierce, Ms.Lauren Novak, Mrs.Vanessa Sanford, and Mrs.Danesa Daniel. I have three main things that I am looking for, one being how well the conversation flowed, two being how well I think they could help and advise me as a mentor, and three, their availability. While Dr.Kaminski's was very necessary for my research so that I could understand the psychological aspects of my research topic, because I am focusing on therapy, I feel like one of my other options would be better suited. Also because Dr.Kaminski is a college professor, therefore she is the busiest out of the people that I interviewed. The other four people I interviewed are licensed professional counselors, and three out of the four focus on specifically eating disorder therapy, and other mental illnesses that come with that. I enjoyed my interviews with all of them, but I feel that some definitely flowed better and seemed more natural than others. Although the interviews with Ms.Novak and Mrs.Daniel were virtual, and the other two were not, this is not my biggest concern, and won't be my deciding factor, because I feel like I was just as comfortable talking to them as I was Mrs.Pierce and Mrs.Sanford. I will continue to make my pros and cons list, and continue to update my page once I select my mentor.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page