top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Books, Podcasts & Organizations, Oh My!

November 1, 2021

Throughout my research interviews, professionals have given me many resources to look into, including books, documentaries, podcasts, as well as organizations. I've ordered Mothers, Daughters, & Body Image by Hillary McBride, and The Body Is Not An Apology by Sonya Renee Taylor, recommended to me by Vanessa Sanford, so that I can better educate myself on how society has affected people, and eating disorders. I also plan on listening to podcasts over eating disorders and recovery, Food Psych and ED Matters were recommended to me by Danesa Daniel. While browsing podcasts, I also downloaded The Feeding Freedom Podcast, Just Eat Normally Podcast, and Finding Your Freedom With Food. Mrs.Daniel also gave me the name of some organizations that she believes do a good job of raising awareness about the diversity in those who have eating disorders. These organizations include Maudsley Parents, and Around the Dinner Table for parents who have children struggling with eating disorders, and The Association for Size Diversity and Health, and Health at Every Size, which promote diversity among those who struggle with eating disorders and body positivity. I want to read books and listen to podcasts about my field of study so that I can learn more about how to bring awareness to eating disorders, as well as educate myself on what I should be promoting regarding body positivity, self love and worth, and healthy relationships with food.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page