top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Getting Ready for the Show

Feb 16, 2022

The past week I have been planning my board to present at the ISM showcase. I decided that I wanted to include a QR code to my original work presentation, and print out a few copies of the informational pamphlet that I created, as well as copies of my assessments, on top of the required information such as mentor bio and photo, my mission statement, and the quote that has been driving my study. Speaking of mentor... I have a mentor! My mentor, who will help guide me throughout the remainder of my independent study, and share her experience and knowledge, is Mrs.Danesa Daniel. She is a therapist who specializes in eating disorders which is extremely helpful for my independent study. She also is a counselor for other mental struggles such as anxiety, perfectionism, body image and self esteem issues, and counsels all ages, genders, sizes and sexual orientations. The diversity of her clients is important to me because I believe it is important for society to understand that everybody struggles with things and especially with the stigma surrounding eating disorders, I want to show that there isn't a stereotype, eating disorders look different for everybody. I hope to express these ideas in my speech at the showcase. I'm finishing up the details on my showcase display board, and can't wait to share all the information I have found throughout my study.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page