top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Making a Plan

October 4, 2021

This past week I began to work on my original work by writing my proposal. One problem I see in society, especially in schools, is that although schools do a good job of shedding light on issues such as bullying and depression, even though adolescents are most at risk, no one ever discusses eating disorders. My goal is to spread awareness about eating disorders in adolescents, through educating parents and teachers. I plan on using my creative thinking skills in order to create something engaging, yet still informative to inform adults on indicators that a child or teen may have an eating disorder, as well as information on how to help. In order to successfully achieve my goal, I will be contacting more professionals, so that I can learn more about eating disorders in general, as well as signs that might normally go unnoticed. I would like students who are struggling to feel safe enough to ask for help, and get help so that they can better their self perception by providing information and resources, and I believe this process starts with the adults. I feel very passionate about the issue of eating disorders because I feel that although media outlets are doing what they can to spread awareness about eating disorders, schools and other more personal groups need to do a better job. I plan on creating a way to educate adults on ways to spread awareness and ultimately find ways to help diminish the percentage of adolescents with eating disorders.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page