top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

My First Look Into Eating Disorders

September 7,2021

For my first research assessment, I read a case study about how parents have an affect on the development of eating disorders in adolescents. One thing that intrigued me is how mothers and fathers actions can lead to poor self esteem, but do so in different ways. While overprotection from mothers can lead to less self acceptance, neglect from the father can have the same effect. Another topic that peaked my interest, was that of the Attachment Theory, which to summarize from my understanding says that, when parents offer healthy communication and a well functioning relationship, adolescents will have a positive self esteem, and then when caregivers do not provide a child with a negative, ill functioning relationship or communication, the child will result in a negative self esteem. Although parents do clearly have an affect on an adolescents' perception of themselves, I would like to take a closer look to seek out what affects children in their developing years, the caregivers, or other social situations such as people in school or online. By reading this particular study, I have broadened my knowledge about how parents and their parenting styles can cause children to develop eating disorders, which will assist me in my quest to find ways to inform parents and other adults what they can do to prevent eating disorders in adolescents and what to be looking for in order to get the child help when needed.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page