top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

Original Work Progress

December 6, 2021

For my original work I want to make pamphlets and a presentation with information on eating disorders for high school and middle school counselors, other faculty, and parents, to help them understand why knowledge of this subject is important. During my second semester, I hope to spend time meeting with schools and parents, so that we can implement eating disorder prevention and awareness. Recently I found that cardiac problems result in one third of deaths in patients with anorexia nervosa, and one half of deaths come from suicide. With these statistics I hope that others can understand the reason why knowledge on eating disorders is so important. So far I have begun to work on the presentation and pamphlet, as well as built a contact list of every counselor from every high school and middle school in the Frisco Independent School District. I want to make an impact in schools and mental health awareness in schools, because I think that psychiatric disorders, especially eating disorders deserve more awareness because of their high mortality rates within adolescents. Over the next two weeks I hope to finalize my original work and begin contacting counselors in my community so that I can begin to set up meeting with them and members of the PTA, so that I can stress my concerns and possible solutions for eating disorder awareness.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page