top of page
Search
  • hannahjgay16

The Body Is Not An Apology

November 8, 2021

This week I decided to read a book recommended to me by Mrs Vanessa Sanford, Sonya Renee Taylor's The Body Is Not An Apology: The Power of Radical Self-Love. The book highlights issues in our society that reinforce body shaming and the idea of a default body. The purpose of the book is to help promote radical self-love, in a world that makes it nearly impossible. Throughout history the idea of beauty standards have played a prominent role in shaping how we view ourselves as well as how we view others. Many people have felt the effects of body shaming from young ages. According to Taylor, most report their first instances of body shaming in years of puberty. My primary goal from my independent study is to find ways to help children and better society, by speaking about injustices and body shaming in order to attempt to limit the number of people that develop eating disorders. Without society reinforcing body shaming through all areas of life including products in the beauty industry, laws made by the government, and overall societal ideas that have been made to view certain bodies as having less value, the world would be a much better place. A place of difference faced with acceptance and not hate.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The End of ISM

May 2, 2022 Throughout my journey in the Independent Study and Mentorship program, I have grown in my knowledge and as a person. By studying eating disorder therapy, I have been able to observe how pr

Wrapping Up My Final Product

April 19, 2022 Going into my final product, my goal was to create something to spread awareness about eating disorders. My original plan was to create something that would be specific to the high scho

Big Week

April 4, 2022 Last week was a big week for me ISM wise. On Tuesday, I meet with the counselors at my high school to discuss possible ways I could implement eating disorder awareness into our school, t

bottom of page